TBR

May TBR

summerslinger.jpg

Spellslinger

The start of a new fantasy series, Spellslinger had me intrigued when I read the first chaper on Readers First. De Castell has worked in so many disciplines – I am particularly interested to find out how his background in archaeology and the arts feeds into his narrative. As the novel opens, trainee mage Kellan is running out of time to prove he has any magical ability. If he cannot do so, society dictates he must do service work. I wonder whether Kellan will find a third way, and whether it will relate to the gift with animals we see in the first pages? This also seems topical, as social divides become more pronounced.

 

One Silver Summer

In my mid-teens I loved all things Daphne Du Maurier, especially Rebecca.  One Silver Summer is marketed as an adventure in Du Maurier’s cornwall suitable for the ‘Clean Teen’ audience, (for those of you who have not come across this publishing term, it describes a market which exsists for books with teenage characters/issues suitable for a pre-teen audience.) Protagonist Sass discovers a horse – I loved Lauren St John’s horsey books, which were aimed at the same market.

 

sleepingspinner.jpg

The Sleeping Prince

I read The Sin Eater’s Daughter in April. In TSED, the Sleeping Prince was a fairy tale character, who had slept for five hundred years while his kingdom fell into enemy hands. The ending ensured I could not leave it any length of time before I read the sequel.

          The blurb suggests Twylla is not the main character in The Sleeping Prince, but I understand from people I have spoken to Twylla returns. I look forward to seeing how she develops.

 

The Night Spinner

The Night Spinner has been on my TBR pile since publication. Given I reserved a copy and blagged a lift in order to collect it, I cannot explain why it is still on my pile. Perhaps I am having difficulty with saying goodbye to Moll? I have loved Moll and Gryff since the word go, and always love headstrong female characters. I trust Elphinstone – heck, they’re her characters … I have meant to give several days to a readathon, starting from The Dreamsnatcher and working through to the end. May will be the month I make that space, and finally finish Moll’s adventures.

orangeboy.jpg

Orange Boy

‘Gritty Urban Drama’? Fills me with dread and preconceptions. I felt the same thing about romance ahead of One Italian Summer. I loved One Italian Summer. I super-loved Wing Jones. Wing Jones opened my eyes to fiction with a contemporary setting. My heart belongs to fantasy – with subsections for historical drama and political dystopia, but after reading Wing Jones I decided to read at least one contemporary novel a month. Orange Boy seemed like a natural progression from Wing Jones. Like Wing Jones, everybody’s read it. Everybody’s raved about it. I know social class is a major theme in Orange Boy, but that is about all I know. If the awards are anything to go by, I am in for a treat.

circusmarvels2.jpg

Ned’s Circus of Marvels – The Gold Thief

Ned’s Circus of Marvels was a page turner. Fisher has a background in television and film, and knows how to write a scene. In some ways the story was familiar – a world of magic and mayhem exsists alongside ours, hidden by a veil. I found it a reassuring familiarity rather than a dull one. So much about the novel was new, from the imaginative setting to the characters, who develop and change as a result of their adventures. I hope to be as lost in the second book as I was in the first.

 

What is on your TBR pile? Have you read any of the books above? 

Leave a Reply

