WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday – 03.05.2017

Thanks to Sam for hosting this meme at Taking on a World of Words. This is the first time I have participated. The idea is to answer three questions – What am I currently reading, What did I reccently finish reading and What might I read next? 

summerslinger

Current Read: One Silver Summer by Rachel Hickman. 

Sass is staying in Cornwall after an accident kills her mother in Brooklyn. Alex has run home to his family’s Cornish estate. It’s not that he doesn’t understand how his behaviour might affect other people’s lives, it’s just he can’t cope. With the expectation he’ll keep a stiff upper lip while the press intrude on his family’s life. The family is out of money, and Alex’s Cornish refuge might also be put up for sale. Sass and Alex come from different backgrounds, but both take comfort from being outdoors. 

I love the setting, which is straight out of Daphne Du Maurier. I’m interested to see how Alex develops. On the outside, he is a spoilt rich-boy, but the place where he escapes from the press interest in his family is about to be taken away, and everybody he turns to expects him to solider on and hide his feelings. 

Next Read: Spellslinger by Sebastian de Castell

When I read the first chapter, I was interested in the clear social divide in Kellan’s world. Either you’re a mage, or a service worker. Kellan is running out of time to prove his magical power. What he does have is a strong bond with animals. I hope he finds a path which is not prescribed by the society he lives in. de Castell has worked in various jobs, and I am looking forward to seeing whether his background in archeology and the arts feeds into the narrative. 

Book I’ve just finished – Evie’s Ghost by Helen Peters

EvieGhost

I loved this – it reminded me of old school timeslip like Charlotte Sometimes and Tom’s Midnight Garden, but Evie was a character with a totally modern take on life. She can’t imagine anything worse than being left out of a family holiday … until she travels back to 1814 and does a stint as a housemaid … This explores the rights we have gained over the time, and gently suggests those rights could be lost. As I said in my review, there is just enough issue, and a heck of a lot of story, as Evie works to change the fate of a girl who was locked up for refusing to marry the man of her father’s choice. 

 

Have you read any of these novels? What are you reading next? Please comment below – I look forward to seeing your thoughts.

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 03.05.2017

    1. Thanks Kelly. There’s a great revelation about one of the characters a 1/3 of the way in. I guessed – he reminded me of someone in RL public eye – but I doubt an 11 year-old would. Not because they are incapable,
      just the date of the cultural references.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

