Chat

Chat: Bookish Gifts

Bookmarks and posters and pins, oh my! Sports fanatics and film buffs have been a recognised market since time began, but it is only in the past ten years that serious interest has been taken in bookworms. Before the dawn of social media, I suppose manufacturers thought we were catered for. Bookworms needed books. Perhaps the odd bookmark, or a set of fancy bookplates. What else could we possibly want?

With social media, it became apparent we wanted so much more.

il_570xn-1165135269_oi31
Willam and Joseph Candles

Perharps we had never been recognised as a tribe before. Bookworms don’t, as a rule, gather. Oh, we gather in spirit. We share concerns. Those concerns are largely for make-believe people, and our own right to be left alone with these figmants of our mind. I don’t know about you, but I always experience a frission of solidarity when I meet another bookish person. If I had whiskers, they would quiver.

It seems an unlikely coindcidnce, that the rise in online book communities has lead to an explosion in the number of bookish gifts available. A second reason exists – the internet gave artists and small companies an affordable platform through which to sell their goods. To summarise, the internet made us a market, and gave us the goods.

I own a huge number of bookmarks, and some beautiful Alice in Wonderland Christmas decorations, but have been a bit slow to catch on to the number of products available. To spare my purse – and following on from my ideal reading space – I have made a pinboard of bookish items I would like to buy.

Where do you stand on bookish gifts? Are they an addiction, or would you have a book every time?

12 thoughts on “Chat: Bookish Gifts

    1. That’s a good way of thinking about it. Book money is book money, but if you happen to be looking for a tote bag, better have it book related. I would like a couple of little bits for my shelves, if I ever get them looking photogenic.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d rather go with buying books, but that’s more because of the shipping costs when I finally find bookish items that I’d like to have. Those put me off every single time.
    Thank the skies that I have a FairyLoot subscription, so I get some bookish items every month, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

