Chat

Guest Chat – @goldenbooksgirl finds perfect summer destinations from her favourite fiction

Whether it’s the Leaning Tower of Piza or the Arctic wilderness, this is the time of year when social media EXPLODES with perfect pictures from perfect holidays. Meanwhile, some of us are sat at home making Pinterest boards of places we would like to visit. One way to ‘visit’ a place without stepping foot on a plane is to read a book with a great setting. Sure, you’re not actually there, but you might empathise with a new culture in a way you wouldn’t if you really were running around with a tour group or sipping cocktails on a sandy beach. Handing over to Amy from @goldenbooksgirl, one of my bestest blogging friends. Huge thanks to Amy, who is epic, awesome and all-over lovely. 

 

MY TOP WANDERLUST READS- GOLDEN BOOKS GIRL GUEST POST

ginza_at_night2c_tokyo

Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse (Tokyo)

This book has some faults, but it did such a phenomenal job showcasing Tokyo that I still adored it. It`s the love story of Sophia and Jamie, in Sophia`s last ever week living in Tokyo, and her falling for the city all over again alongside her romance with Jamie. It made me want to jump on a plane immediately.

The Girl Who Rode the Wind by Stacy Gregg (Italy)

This is an utterly lovely contemporary adventure book, which also contains a lot of Italy`s culture and traditions and history (through the form of actual flashbacks to the main character`s grandmother when she was young, if my memory serves). I`m very overdue a reread of this, and I highly recommend it. And, as it`s Stacy Gregg, there`s obviously a huge horsey theme too! If you`d prefer some equestrian fun in Spain and learn more about that country instead, the 6th Pony Club Secrets book (Storm and the Silver Bridle would be perfect for you!

The White Giraffe series by Lauren St. John (South Africa)

While I`m not as big a fan of this series as I am of Lauren`s other books, the Laura Marlin Mysteries, I still really enjoyed them. They conjure up a beautiful, yet simeltaneously horrific picture of South Africa which is very accurate judging from comments made by a friend who lives there. Reading these was tough for me (I don`t do well with animal books, they always make me cry) but if they don`t make you want to go on a safari and experience the wonder of animals in the wild for yourself I truly don`t understand why.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Paris)

This is one of my favourite romance books EVER (you`ll understand why once you`ve read it). It explores Anna as she moves to an American school in Paris and soon develops a crush on handsome, charming Etienne. The only problem is that he already has a girlfriend…

This book made me desperate to go to Paris; this book created such an atmosphere and an ambience, and the scenes exploring the city were my very favourites.

New York, New York/The BSC in the USA by Ann M. Martin

If you read my blog, I make no secret about the fact that I adore the Babysitters Club series. These are super specials, which means that they`re narrated by every club member and even a few side characters sometimes (which is always super, super fun!). They`re set in New York and on a roadtrip across America and I can basically guarantee you`ll want to explore a few locations for yourself by the time you`re done. My personal favourite narrators in New York, New York are Stacey and Mary-Anne, who have been tasked with showing the children of diplomats the sights and in BSC in the USA I think my favourite location has to be the Grand Canyon.

Stella Etc series by Karen McCombie (British seaside)

If all my exotic picks aren`t your style, why not try this sea-set series with friendship, mystery and a huge dollop of Karen McCombie humour? They feature a fabulous, hugely likeable cast of characters (my personal favourite is TJ) and the historical mystery throughout all seven books is genuinely interesting. These also have the bonus of actually being set in summer, so they are PERFECT reads for a sunny day, especially as they`re quite short and easy to get through.

 

Have you read any books which make you want to pack a suitcase and jet off? Has a setting actually inspired you to travel? Let me know in the comments bellow.

Leave a Reply

