Chat

Ten Examples of Bookish Angst

Most bookworms I know are introverts. Never mistake introvert for passive. All that reading makes us (that might be the royal us) overthinkers. Even so, you would be forgiven for thinking reading is a quiet and carefree hobby. Surely there could be nothing worrying about picking up a book? Here are ten examples I know of bookish angst. Shout out if you identify. I would love to know if you think of any more.

worry-about-hog-2096333_1920.jpg
Worry? Me?

 

  • I want to lend this book to you but you will ruin the spine. I’m super-guilty on this charge. I love second hand books whose spines are marked like tree-rings, but treat my books that way and you’re blacklisted. It is possible to read without wrecking the book.

 

  • The sequel isn’t out for nearly a year but I need to know what happens now.

 

  • Worrying about characters as though they are real people. This is also a sign of a great book, but it is mildly concerning that I spend my days agonising over the fate of people who don’t exist.

 

  • You can never own too many books, but how the heck will I store any more? My shelves are overflowing, there is no space for more shelves. This is worthy of a post itself. My friend Christina has an overstuffed divan, and I’ve seen beautiful bedside tables made of book piles.

 

  • How can I leave the poor darling here? Joining the bookish community has reassured me that this is not cause for concern, although it doesn’t help the situation discussed in point four. Have you ever seen an all time favourite in a charity shop and found yourself taking it home because you can’t possibly leave it? Turns out I’m not alone. The Fantastic Flying Journey and The Patchwork Cat are books I struggle to leave on charity shop shelves.

 

  • Why should I join in the real world? The online bookish community falls somewhere between the world of books and the ‘real’ world (a world I find decidedly unreal. All those systems are as fictional as my stories.) Anyways, overthinking aside, sometimes I am invited to partake in the ‘real’ world when I am in the middle of an all time classic. Remember those old invitation slips? There should be a box for ‘it’s very kind of you, but I’m reading’.

 

  • I’ll never write like Dickens/Almond/similarly prestigious authors. I am better with this one. The big secret is there is one way in which anyone can write like the biggest’n’greatest authors. Everybody who published a book started by picking up a pen. 

 

  • What if the film spoils it? Let’s face it. I can be a cinema trip bore. If it’s based off a book, I’ll tell you the plot while you’re queuing for popcorn, and bemoan the changes throughout the film. The only two which equal the book are The Hours and Atonement. Three cheers for original scripts like Fantastic Beasts.

 

  • Loyalty card woes. Loyalty cards were designed to do this. If I buy one more, I’ll get a stamp. Getting-a-stamp has dictated how much I spend on books in 2017.

 

  • If I walk past the charity shop, I’ll miss something good. Less relevant now I live in a village which has a Post Office twice weekly, and no other shops. In the brief period I lived in Sussex, this was my mantra. I’ve never seen such good charity shops. Not to worry – I got a lifetime’s fill, and shelf’s worth of new books.

 

Do you identify with any of these worries? Can you think of any more? Do share! Promise it is a secret…

21 thoughts on “Ten Examples of Bookish Angst

    1. OMG you have no idea how much this annoys me! If I have a series I NEED them to match!

      When I was a teen I got to book 30 of a series and for the last 6 books they switched to the US covers – I was so unimpressed

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t read the final few. Keep thinking about searching them out on eBay. A girl born without the fear gene, spy father and evil twin uncle what wasn’t to love as a young teen?! I even wrote a short story loosely based on it for English I’m sure!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t tell if all the books I’ve been reading have been really good or if I just fall in love with characters really easily because as of right now, I have at least EIGHT characters that I’m worrying and thinking about !! One in which I’m in mourning for…RIP 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You must be a deep thinker! It’s terrible when you’re in mourning for a character. Have you read Patrick Ness’s trilogy? I had to go to my local bookshop for fictional angst counselling when … someone … was killed off. Luckily the owner at the time had recently read the trilogy, and was most sympathetic.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not yet, but I’ve been wanting to! But oh no…I don’t want to go through the pain of loving a character just to have them die. Remember when books were fun and easy and didn’t ruin your life? ha ha ha…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think the trend is reversing. Three or four years ago, it got to the point where if an animal was introduced, I knew it was a gonner. It was supposed to make us empathise with the characters. TBH, it got depressing. x

        Like

    1. Those stamp cards are evil! Evil. I love them too much. My family help me along when the buy holiday reading, or over-priced cook books. I chose Pullman’s graphic novel a couple of weeks ago with a full stamp card. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

