waiting on wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday – 17.05.2017

619svznqvvl-_sx327_bo1204203200_Synopsis:

Seek the scattered Storm-Opals of Sea, Sky and Land, before an enemy finds them and uses them to wield dark power . . .

The trail of the Storm-Opals takes Mouse further than she has ever been before. With her little brother Sparrow and friend Crow alongside her, she stumbles into the world of Sky, where fortresses are hidden amongst the clouds, secret libraries (skybraries) nestle atop gigantic icebergs and the sky swirls with warring tribes and their ferocious flying beasts. Can they solve Da’s message before it’s too late for their ship, their tribe and the whole of Trianukka?

Sky-soaring, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, draggle-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure. 

 

Why I can’t wait:

 

  • Haven’t you read The Huntress: Sea??! I loved the world. It mixed whales and merwraiths, mad monks and tribal magic, and made a believeable, readable world. Driver seems to ENJOY the words she works with. I loved all the sea-related metaphors and idioms, to the point where I started making up my own for the joy of it. I’ve got my fingers crossed for some sky-related language.

 

  • Mouse developed so much across the course of Sea. Without spoiling the ending, she starts off desperate to be a leader like her grandmother, but not mad-keen on responsibility. I want to find out how further adventure changes and develops her character.

 

  • Everything Mouse’s tribe has worked for is still in peril … and I care. I care about this world, divided so rigidly into tribes. I care about the ship, which I totally want to build from Lego, and the relationship between Mouse and her little brother. I want to know how different the world will look at the end of the trilogy …

 

The Huntress: Sky by Sarah Driver

September 2017

 Egmont

 

new2bwow

 

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Thank you for hosting.

Leave a Reply

