Monthly Wrap Up · TBR

May Wrap-Up and June TBR

Books I have read:

Reviews:

The Stars at Oktober Bend – Glenda Millard

Wolf Hollow – Lauren Wolk

The Smell of Other People’s Houses – Bonnie Sue Hitchcock

Maresi – Maria Turtschaninoff

Like Other Girls – Claire Hennessy

Spellslinger – Sebastian de Castell

The Dreamsnatcher and The Shadow Keeper (rereads) – Abi Elphinstone

One Silver Summer – Rachel Hickman

Evie’s Ghost – Helen Peters

Targets: 

Carnegie List – 3/8 

The books have been so varied. The Stars at Oktober Bend is my winner-so-far. It is also the most literary of the three. What do I even mean by literary? Beloved of people with an interest in textual analysis, perhaps. If I had to chose an all-rounder, it would be Wolf Hollow. The story zips along, but it has beautiful sentences which hint at the direction the plot will take.

I have ordered the two books I was missing, and hope to finish the list in time for the announcement. This is my main target in June, which adds five books to my TBR: 

As mentioned in my Top Ten Tuesday post of 30.05.2017, I have imposed a month long book-buying ban. The dragon who guards my gold hoard is looking kind of grumpy. Something had to be done. I wish I’d had the forethought to preorder Showstopper by Hayley Barker. I love circus-settings, and I’m desperate to read this. However, I have a terrible – wonderful – habit of buying books in bulk.

Also on my TBR list – 

 

What was your favourite book of the month? What is on your June TBR? 

Leave a Reply

